Designers of the Year Photo Credit: Western Living

Announcing Our Designers of the Year 2017 Finalists!

Winners to be announced August 31 and profiled in our September issue!

Every September issue of Western Living celebrates the best in Western Canadian design with our Designers of the Year awards. We’re celebrating the 10th anniversary of the competition this fall, and were thrilled to see hundreds of entries flood in from B.C., Alberta, Saskatchewan, Manitoba… and even the Yukon.

Our editorial team and all-star judging panel had a big job to do, poring over all of the amazing submissions and narrowing the selections down to a shortlist of top contenders, but now we’re thrilled to announce our finalists in each of our nine categories below.

Winners will be announced August 31, celebrated in our September issue, and honoured at our annual DOTY galas in Vancouver and Calgary. Keep connected with us on Twitter, Facebook and Instagram or subscribe to our newsletter to follow all our #wldoty updates.

Congratulations to all of this year’s incredible finalists, and thank you so much to everyone who entered: every year, the design talent here in Western Canada just blows us away.


Campos Studio, Vancouver
DeJong Design Associates, Calgary
Frits de Vries Architects + Associates, Vancouver
JWT Architecture, Bowen Island, B.C.
RNDSQR, Calgary
Rockwood Custom Homes and Dean Thomas Design GroupCalgary
Russell and Russell Design Studios, Canmore, AB
Vallely Architecture, Vancouver


Arno Matis, Vancouver
Campos Studio, Vancouver
MoDA, Calgary
One SEED Architecture and Interiors, Vancouver
Platform Architecture, Victoria
RNDSQR, Calgary
Studio North, Calgary
Vallely Architecture, Vancouver


Andronyk, Saskatoon
Claudia Schulz, Vancouver
Dina Gonzalez Mascaro, Vancouver
Dsign Step, Calgary
Grey by Becki Chan, Vancouver
Joanna Baxter (Lover Fighter), Vancouver
Nicole Bridger Design, Vancouver
Shannon Munro, Victoria
Shelley MacDonald Jewellery, Yukon
Stittgen Fine Jewelry, Vancouver
Westerly Handmade Shoes, Vancouver


AdrianMartinus Designs, Calgary
Arostegui Studio, Victoria
Design-Built, Winnipeg
Izm, Edmonton
Jeff Martin Joinery, Vancouver
Judson Beaumont, Vancouver
Kate Duncan, Vancouver
Sholto Design Studio, Vancouver
Studio Brovhn, Vancouver


AdrianMartinus Designs, Calgary
Annie Tung, Vancouver
Ko Júbilo, Vancouver
Landon Dix Design Studio, Vancouver
Maurice Laurent Dery, Vancouver
Shipway Living Design, Vancouver
Solus Décor, Vancouver
Willow and Stump, Vancouver


Alykhan Velji Designs, Calgary
Amanda Hamilton Interior Design, Calgary
Cabin Fever Interiors, Whistler, B.C.
Enviable Designs, Vancouver
Heffel Balagno Design Consultants, Vancouver
MāK Interiors, Vancouver
Measured Architecture, Vancouver
Project 22 Design, Vancouver
RNDSQR, Calgary
Rockwood Custom Homes, Calgary
Sophie Burke Design, Vancouver
Stephanie Brown Inc., Vancouver


Aloe Designs, Vancouver
Botanica Design, Vancouver
Claire Kennedy Design, Vancouver
Haven Garden Design, Vancouver
Straub Thurmayr Landscape Architects, Winnipeg


Andrea Wong, Vancouver
Annie Tung, Vancouver
Béton Brut, Edmonton
Kalika Bowlby, Nelson, B.C.
Mezzaluna Studio, Edmonton
Rachel Saunders Ceramics, Victoria
Studio Brovhn, Vancouver
Ulla Clark, Pemberton, B.C.


Alykhan Velji Designs, Calgary
Andrea McLean Design Office, Vancouver
Angela Robinson and Tanya Schoenroth, Vancouver
Gillian Segal Design, Vancouver
Hazel and Brown Design Company, Vancouver
Project 22 Design, Vancouver
RNDSQR, Calgary
Shipway Living Design, Vancouver
Stephanie Brown Inc., Vancouver

Winners will be announced August 31! Sign up for our newsletter so you don’t miss a thing.

Meet this year’s judging panel.

Check out previous DOTY winners by category or by year.


Instagram Diary